Today was glorious! After the summer-that-never-was, we were given a gloriously warm and sunny day. Hallelujah! Himself, being the entrepreneur he is, took the afternoon off and we headed for the beach.

20120810-223054.jpg

Our favorite southern beach is only 25 minutes away. We packed a lunch, donned our swimwear, grabbed a blanket and a towel, and dashed down to soak up the rays. Many like-minded souls had preceded us, and we marveled at the packed parking area. After sashaying past the groups of little kids, we found a cove for two…..and shared it with another couple and single female. No bother! We had sandwich rolls to devour, sunscreen to apply, and Vitamin D to absorb.

The harbour was awash with gorgeous sailboats. Himself took his first sailing lesson a few weeks back (he dreams of cruising the Mediterranean), so we eyed-up the many options anchored before us. After several hours of baking and reading P&P, I decided to immerse myself in salty Mama ocean. Brrrr, she is chilly this far north, but yumyum, what a treat! My skin loves the prickly tingly feel of salt water. Growing-up as I did on the Texas Gulf Coast, the beach was only 10 miles as the crow flies. I spent many pleasant days as a child, and triple that as a teenager, on Matagorda beach. I adore the ocean.

Today was the first time I ever swam in Ireland.

It was immensely appropriate to purify myself on this holy Friday, as we enter the Old Lughnasadh time. Aoine Chrom Dubh – may our harvest be blessed.

