We are moving!! Thank the sweet baby Jesus, yes we are!

In Ireland suburbs are known as housing estates. I guess they are the same world wide. No amenities, very little individuality in architecture, and even less community identity. Due to the lack of amenities and community you are forced to drive almost everywhere. In their most gruesome, they remind me of the endless fields in The Matrix, where humans are grown. Back in Austin I was committed to living close to the city centre, close to community and in a neighborhood with character. I was the proud rider of a Breezer commuter bicycle, member of both of my local car share programs, and frequent rider of public transport. I didn’t own a car and had no desire to purchase one.

Himself bought an apartment in an up and coming estate back during the boom. His plan had been to sell, pocketing a tidy sum. That dream is long buried in the dust of the property crash that devastated the country and most of the world. Stuck here since my arrival, I have bemoaned my imprisonment, even likening the experience of the “burbs” to purgatory. (melodramatic much?)

No more purgatory for me! I have been liberated!!

Or, soon will be. We are moving before the end of the month! He has gone out on his own (forced out of the nest a bit, but flying solo now none the less) so we are moving to CORK!! The first stop will be Donegal, since we found tenants for the apartment so quickly. We’ll crash at his sister’s while searching for houses. He also has loads to do setting the business up. Logo, virtual office, letterhead, website, introductory letter, scheduling meetings with clients……..

But I get to move!! And find a house with a garden!!! Best of all, I get to explore Cork. The place left behind by one of my Irish ancestors all those long years ago.

