and into the Texas heat.

People who visit Texas from the north, or Ireland (as the case may be), are often taken aback by the oppressive August heat. In these moments I am fond of contrasting the seasons for them. In the bitter cold of a northern winter, Mother Nature attempts to create yummy human Popsicle sticks. Perhaps for an early spring snack. In Texas she lounges, margarita in hand, as she slow roasts us. Making Her own version of BBQ human kabobs.

He arrives for his visit today. In 12 hours, to be exact. :squeee: The agenda includes lots of time at Barton Springs. I think the cool 20 Celsius water will help him forget the 38 degree bbq pit we’ll be walking around in. We’ll also watch the bats come out, and maybe take in a movie at the Alamo.

My mother is coming to visit (mostly to meet him) on Sunday. I think we’ll go over to Ginny’s for chicken-shit bingo and Dale Watson. We’re heading down to the Salt Lick Sunday night for BBQ (not the human kind), and the rest will be spent lounging. Ok, I’ll be studying. I have finals on Thursday!

