…a hunting we will go!

House hunting in-absentia is sort of fun, at least for me. It is true that I miss the opportunity to walk through the place, imagining bits and pieces of ordinary life happening in each room. But I knew when he was driving over, knew when he met the estate agent, knew he was walking through the rooms and into the garden. I could imagine it all. And it delighted me to imagine it. Afterward, I waited impatiently for him to email pictures and describe the neighborhood and the layout of the house.

He has only looked at one so far. And what do you think I did? Like a silly, romantic girl I’ve fallen madly in love with it. I’ve already dreamt about living in it. I have whiled away hours at work decorating the place in my head. We may not get it, but oh how I adore it. The beaten up floor-boards of it and the over-grown garden of it seem the epitome of the bohemian life. It whispers to my soul of better days, and a decadent decay that my Southern roots cherish. The notion of living with my beloved in such romanticism fills me with joy. And if this country girl must live in the city, it is just the sort of house I dream of. And here it is, the place of dreams….

The House
